Need some help with an Octa Switch with My Blackstar

PA systems, mic's, home recording, pro recording, lighting, everything that is Pro Audio!

Moderators: Thor, Admin Team

Pathiratic
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: August 23rd, 2013, 7:50pm

Need some help with an Octa Switch with My Blackstar

Postby Pathiratic » October 27th, 2013, 3:49pm

Need help with Octa switch and amp channel set up
I bought a Carl Martin octa switch, works great, switches between pedals just fine; I'm trying to get it to switch the amp channels using the external switch, but it's not changing the amp channels at all. I have it plugged into my Blackstar HT Stage 100. I have the external line plugged into the 1/4 jack on the back for the footswitch with a stereo
The manual, it's pretty unclear I've found a couple clips :

"If plugging straight into the Octa-switch does not give you the desired result, we suggest you contact your local qualified amp technician and have him make the required change to your amp’s switch, so it will function with the Octa-switch. (It is impossible to have a switching system that will work with every amp on the market, but because all switching systems are similar, it should be possible to have them all work with the Octa-switch with! For safety reasons, we do not recommend you open or attempt to service this pedal, your switches or your amplifiers unless you have the proper qualifications!) "

And

Please note that the different amps switching systems varies, so we recommend to us a stereo jack, and then try to solder either the hot on ring or tip, till the wanted result are achieved

I'm not too sure what this means

So I guess my question is; does anyone have any insight on what I need to do? Can I do this myself with a bit of solder? I'm not too firmiliar with what this means? I'm not sure If I can slap some solder on something and make it work?

Pathiratic
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: August 23rd, 2013, 7:50pm

Re: Need some help with an Octa Switch with My Blackstar

Postby Pathiratic » October 28th, 2013, 8:21am

Looks like the amp is controlling the channels via db9pin (vga looking input) looks like I'm going to need some kind of converter or maybe an amp tech I can take this to ? Have it modified somehow.


Any amp techs out there have any suggestions ? Who can I take this to to make these 2work together

User avatar
crentist
Beautiful Lunatic
Posts: 3986
Joined: February 7th, 2008, 10:49pm
Location: Scranton (N. T., NY)

Re: Need some help with an Octa Switch with My Blackstar

Postby crentist » October 28th, 2013, 8:33am

Try this guy, I think he's a member here
http://buffalo.craigslist.org/muc/4103799210.html
I don't know if they really don't sound all that different in a band context or if years of playing in bands with guitarists have honed my guitarist-ignoring skills to perfection.

User avatar
Kyle B
Member
Posts: 224
Joined: November 20th, 2007, 6:24pm

Re: Need some help with an Octa Switch with My Blackstar

Postby Kyle B » January 2nd, 2014, 11:21pm

crentist wrote:Try this guy, I think he's a member here
http://buffalo.craigslist.org/muc/4103799210.html


Thanks for the plug man! (much belated). I did fix this cat up - he was stoked :)

That link is probably long gone --- My Facebook page should stick around: https://www.facebook.com/FixYerChit


Return to “Pro Audio and Recording”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

(function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '.google-analytics.com/ga.js'; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();